MG ZS EV goes to the TERI World Sustainable Development Summit 2020

MG Motor India recently delivered the first ZS EV to EESL (Energy Efficiency Services Ltd.). EESL has placed the order for 5 ZS EVs for use by Government Officials. The vehicle will be used by key government officials to further the cause of reducing pollution by putting more EVs on the road by 2030. Hon’ble Shri Prakash Javadekar, Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; Minister of Information and Broadcasting & Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises, Government of India was present at the event with the ‘MG ZS EV’ at the TERI World Sustainable Development Summit 2020 in New Delhi on Wednesday.

New photo by Motor World India / Google Photos

The launch of the ZS EV, India’s First Pure Electric Internet SUV, is part of the carmaker’s vision for a clean and green future and aligns with the Government’s push to put more electric vehicles on the Indian roads. MG Motor India is setting up a 5-step charging ecosystem that is aimed at fulfilling the needs of its EV customers. Each ZS EV comes with an on-board cable to charge at any 15amp socket. The carmaker will also install an AC fast charger at homes/offices of its customers. The carmaker is also setting up a DC Super-Fast charging network at select MG showrooms that can be availed 24×7 and plans to create an extended charging network across MG dealerships in select satellite cities along key routes, in addition to providing charge-on-the-go with RSA (roadside assistance). Through Super-Fast DC chargers (50 kW), the ZS EV will reach 80% battery capacity within 50 minutes while AC fast chargers installed at homes will take around 6-8 hours for a full charge.

New photo by Motor World India / Google Photos

The carmaker has secured an overwhelming response for the new-age electric SUV, receiving over 2,800 bookings in 27 days. The number of bookings received for the ZS EV outpaces the total number of EV cars sold in India in 2019. MG Motor India has commenced ZS EV sales across 5 cities – Delhi/NCR, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bangalore, and Hyderabad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *