Hyundai Debuts Chennai’s Premier 180 kW DC Fast Public EV Charging Station

Hyundai aims to gradually deploy 100 public fast charging stations across vital highways and urban centers throughout Tamil Nadu.

New item by Neha Gharat / Google Photos

Key Points:
– Hyundai India inaugurates its inaugural 180 kW public DC fast charging station in Chennai.
– Plans are underway to establish an additional 100 public fast charging stations throughout Tamil Nadu.
– Recently, Hyundai erected 11 ultra-fast charging stations across six major cities.
– The new charging station, situated at Spencer Plaza Mall, Thousand Lights, Chennai, is equipped with both 150 kW and 30 kW DC guns.
– Notably, these charging facilities are not exclusive to Hyundai vehicles and are accessible to all EV owners with compatible charging ports.

Jae Wan Ryu, Executive Director – Corporate Planning, HMIL, commented on the development, stating, “Tamil Nadu holds a special place for Hyundai Motor India Limited, and our commitment to the state remains steadfast since our establishment. Marking our 28th year in India, we are thrilled to unveil our first-ever 180 kW fast public charging station in Chennai. Aligned with Hyundai’s vision of ‘Progress for Humanity,’ our goal is to enhance the convenience for all EV users. Therefore, our charging stations are open to any four-wheeler EV owner. Looking ahead, HMIL aims to deploy 100 such charging stations across Tamil Nadu, bolstering the EV ecosystem and encouraging greater EV adoption statewide.”

Hyundai India has extended its EV fast-charging infrastructure to encompass six major cities and five key highway points across the country. Recently, the network expanded to over 10 locations, comprising 11 ultra-fast charging stations. These stations, strategically positioned in cities like Mumbai, Pune, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Gurugram, and Bangalore, as well as along critical highway stretches such as Delhi-Chandigarh, Delhi-Jaipur, Hyderabad-Vijayawada, Mumbai-Surat, and Mumbai-Nashik, feature three DC chargers of varying capacities: 150 kW, 60 kW, and 30 kW.